2020 Northern Territory Literary Awards Finalists Announced

Finalists holding up certificates for the 2019 NT literary awards

Libraries & Archives NT has today announced the finalists of the 2020 Northern Territory Literary Awards.

The annual Northern Territory Literary Awards have celebrated the work of Northern Territory writers for more than 35 years.

The Awards are part of an ongoing program of events at Library & Archives NT that celebrate the achievements of established and emerging writers, storytellers and prominent Territorians.

More than 190 submissions were received across seven categories, with entries received from across the Territory including Katherine, Tennant Creek, Yulara, Alice Springs and Darwin.

Winners will be announced and presented with their prizes at a ceremony held at the Northern Territory Library later in the year.

The free event will be open to the public with tickets available online four weeks prior to the event date.

Winners and finalists will have their work published in an annual publication that will be available online or in printed form at the Library & Archives NT venues.

Congratulations to all the finalists of this year's Literary Awards, and thank you to everyone who submitted works. Your works continue to inform, inspire and entertain us.

The 2020 Northern Territory Literary Awards shortlist include:

Brown's Mart Theatre Award

Faltering - Eleanor Kay

When the Clock Strikes Two - Sarah Reuben and Jeffrey Jay Fowler

Ruptured - Ciella Williams

Charles Darwin University Creative Non-Fiction Award

Motion Sickness - James Murray

Mother's Day - Susannah Ritchie

Dear Bill - Kylie Stevenson

Charles Darwin University Essay Award

States of Deferral: A Recent History of Housing at Borroloola - Liam Grealy, Kirsty Howey, Tess Lea

The Hero who Wasn't - the Mythic Deeds of Pilot Robert Oestreicher in Darwin's First Air Attack - Dr Tom Lewis

To what extent does architecture of the paediatric department at RDH promote a child's mental wellbeing and healing process? - Nuhansi Wijesinghe

Flash Fiction Award

Sardines - Kaye Aldenhoven

Letter to Nathan - Lee Frank

Sally Gleeson - James Murray

Fire on the Horizon - Julie U'Ren

Kath Manzie Youth Award

What happens to the imaginary friend when the child dies? - Angela Keating

Pudding - Tippipon (Tippi) Morgan

The Dripping Tap - Jethro Pollock

The Visit - Peter Susanto

NT Writers' Centre Poetry Award

Civilisation... is... - Kaye Aldenhoven

If I were a bird - Johanna Bell

We all adapt and survive, don't we? - Johanna Bell 

in search of something beautiful, perhaps? - Brian Obiri-Asare

& maybe - Brian Obiri - Asare

brown goshawk - Leni Shilton

Zip Print Short Story Award

Of Ruts and Roars - Mhairi Duncan

Bull Buster - Karen Manton

TAKE SHELTER - Miranda Tetlow

Past Publications can be viewed at ntl.nt.gov.au

Image credit: LANT, 2019 Finalists NT Literary Awards, 2019.