Northern Territory Literary Award Winners announced

Her Honour the Hounourable Vicki O'Halloran Administrator of the Northern Territory with Mharii Duncan winner of the Short Story Award and Edgar Keighley finalist in the Poetry Award. Event banners in the background.

Six of the Territory’s top writers have been recognised for their contribution to the Arts at the 2018 Northern Territory Literary Awards ceremony held at the Araluen Arts Centre in Alice Springs last night.

Writers from across the Territory were joined by Her Honour the Honourable Vicki O’Halloran AM, Administrator of the Northern Territory, and the Honourable Damian Ryan, Mayor of Alice Springs, in an event to celebrate the work of emerging and established Territory Writers.

Department of Tourism and Culture Senior Director Northern Territory Library and Archives, Patrick Gregory, congratulated the winners of the Literary Awards and said the evening was a moment to celebrate the pinnacle of literature that plays such an important role in the cultural fabric of the NT.

“It was a fantastic evening celebrating the wonderful achievements of Territorian writers from across the seven categories – short story, poetry, essay, young writer, flash action, theatre and non-fiction words, Mr Gregory said.

“We received over 300 submissions from a strong field of entries across all seven categories, and the entrants should all be proud of their originality, creativity and flair, and quality of work submitted.”

The winners included:

Brown’s Mart Theatre Award
Mary Anne Butler: Cusp

Charles Darwin University Creative Non-Fiction Award

Charles Darwin University Essay Award
Amy Claire Thomas: ‘Unviable’ languages? Colonisation, assimilation, and bilingual education in the Northern Territory

Flash Fiction Award
Johanna Bell: Virginia Woolf would be proud 

Kath Manzie Youth Award
Ellaby Kenneth:Vanilla

NT Writers' Centre Poetry Award
Johanna Bell: What to do with the foam in my mouth

Zip Print Short Story Award
Mhairi Duncan: The Virgin Mary and Katrina Sparks

Winner of the Charles Darwin Creative Non-Fiction Award Lolla Stewart lauded the community spirit behind the awards.

“Life in this part of the world is unique and I think it’s critical that the community encourages all local voices to tell Territory stories, reflect upon Territory experiences and honour the richness and diversity of Territory people. The awards are a wonderful way to air such stories,” said Ms Stewart.

The annual Northern Territory Literary Awards have celebrated the work of Northern Territory writers for more than 35 years. It is part of an ongoing program of events at the Northern Territory Library that celebrate the achievements of established and emerging writers, storytellers and prominent Territorians.

Read more about the Awards and their past winners here